Merry Christmas! An Easy Way to Save Youtube Videos

My new favorite internet discovery is the easiest way ever to save videos off youtube.

Before you to go this page, make sure your bookmark toolbar is visible. To do this, go to View>Toolbars>Bookmarks.

THE STEPS:

1) Read the page.

2) Drag the little box that says “Get Youtube Video” up onto your new spiffy bookmarks toolbar.

3) Open a youtube page with a video on it you want to save.

4) Press the “Get Youtube Video” button that is now on your bookmark toolbar.

Viola! You choose where to save it to and the video is now yours.

This is such a pretty little piece of programming! AND, to make it even simpler, you can download something farther down the page that automatically puts a “download this video as mp4” button on every youtube video you look at.

IMPORTANT DISCLAIMER: I posted this, and Sonya of Arabesque Studios in Chicago made the comment, “Not everyone really wants their vids lifted off youtube… this is why I no longer post to youtube.” I think that this is a really important point. I used this program to save a video of myself from youtube for my website that I didn’t have and was too big to be emailed. I think that caution should be exercised when using this program. I am posting this in the effort that this can be used for personal growth purposes — saving videos of yourself, downloading videos for personal study, etc.  Also, I think showing how easy it is to save a video off youtube should remind us all to be wary of what we post on youtube, since it could be floating around long after you delete your video. Closing points — be respectful (don’t use this program to redistribute another’s work) and use this as a tool for your personal development.

P.S. If you like my blog, you can go to Google Reader (if you have gmail) and sign up so that every time this blog is updated, you’ll get a notification. I’ve noticed some of my readers are already doing this, so I thought I would pass it along to those of you who don’t know about it!

P.P.S. If you liked the post, check out my other post with fun, free programs that can help out the DIY belly dancer.

3 responses to “Merry Christmas! An Easy Way to Save Youtube Videos

Leave a Reply

