First show in Japan

The first show has come and gone, and it was a whirlwind. The girls had it rough – they ran through and filmed the entire old show, Babelesque, before  the actual show, which was also filmed. I had much more merchandise than I thought – Miles brought seven or eight suitcases, which I had to lug up two flights of stairs because there was no elevator.

I had two girls helping me for the show, thank God, but neither of them spoke any English. There was a translator who spoke very little English before the show, and through him the girls and I worked out a rudimentary communication system. Out of the 1000 people that came to the show and the merch table, I spoke to three people that spoke English. I really gained some empathy for anyone that goes to a foreign country and is thrown in not knowing the language. It is really frightening and pretty lonely… it’s so funny, but I really took something as fundamental as communication for granted.

The show was insane. We started with three tables in a straight line, and by the end, the crowds had pushed the tables into a curve. As I was restocking hip scarves, people were grabbing them out the box. Between trying to communicate with hand signs, converting prices and remembering them in yen, and making change with currency I had never seen before, I was exhausted by the time I got home.

The only Japanese I have learned so far is “arregato” which is “thank you” and “Oh genki des ka” which is  “Nice to meet you” (I’m not even pretending I spelled those right, by the way).

I’m working really hard to communicate with my family and Mark over Skype but the time difference is so great and I only have internet at the venue, so it’s difficult. I haven’t spoken to anyone since I got here, and I’m feeling a little homesick and lonely.

I better get going, we have two shows today and both are sold out. It’s going to be a long day.

4 responses to “First show in Japan

  1. Sounds like you are keeping busy. That has to be hard not getting to talk to loved ones and being in a country where you don’t speak the language. I’m sure your family and Mark understand. Just enjoy the time you have getting to travel. Not many people get to go on merchandise adventures to foreign lands. Lol.

    I think one of the few phrases I know how to say is My name is …

    So you can say Konichiwa! Watashi wa Megan desu. And that’s the extent I know of Japanese.

  2. Sorry you have been not able to communicate with us. We are fortunate to have your blog to hear what is happening with you. I remember being in Spain with Katie and feeling the same kind of panic of not being able to communicate. I couldn’t help but think of how scary it would be to be all alone in a foreign country where you didn’t speak the language. So I’m glad you at least have your troupe mates with you. Take pictures if you can, because visiting Japan could very well be a once in a lifetime experience. Someday you won’t believe you did that when you were 22! We love you, miss you, and are all thinking of you. Wish I was there with you but the blog is the next best thing.

Leave a Reply

